1. Secure your account

First, we need to ensure that your account credentials and login information are as secure as possible.

Choose a secure password
  • Having a strong password is key to protecting your account. Choose a long password with a mix of uppercase letters, lowercase letters, and special characters that is hard to guess and that you don’t use for anything else. 
  • We recommend checking out password managers like 1Password (Mac) or Dashlane (Windows), which make creating and storing secure passwords extremely easy.
Consider enabling two-factor authentication (2FA) 
  • Two-Factor Authentication (2FA) is the most secure way to protect your account. You can use Google Authenticator, Authy, and other authenticator apps on a mobile device in order to authorize access to your account. Once 2FA is enabled, you’ll have the option to further increase your account’s security with SMS Authentication by adding your phone number to your Discord account.
  • You can enable 2FA in your User Settings. You can also refer to this article for more information.

mceclip0.png

 2. Set your privacy & safety settings 

Your privacy settings are very important. They give you control over who can contact you and what they can send you. You can access them by going into your User Settings and selecting Privacy & Safety.

Explicit content media settings

Here you can decide what kind of content you’re comfortable seeing.

mceclip0.png

  • Keep me safe - With this setting, images and videos in all direct messages are scanned by Discord and explicit content is blocked. This setting is on by default.
  • My friends are nice - With this setting, all direct messages sent by users who are not on your Friends List are scanned and explicit content is blocked. This setting is good for those who trust their friends not to send content that they wouldn't want to see.
  • Do not scan - With this setting, none of the direct messages you receive will be scanned or blocked for explicit content. 
Direct messages (DM) settings
  • You might only want certain people to contact you. By default, whenever you’re in a server with someone else, they can send you a direct message (DM). 
  • You can toggle Allow direct messages from server members to block DMs from users in a server who aren’t on your friends list. If you have joined any servers prior to turning this off you’ll need to adjust your DM settings individually for each server that you have joined.
  • To change this setting for a specific server, select Privacy Settings on the server’s dropdown list and toggle Allow direct messages from server members. 
Friend request settings

The last thing to do in your security settings is determine who can send you a friend request.

mceclip2.png

  • Everyone - Selecting this means that anyone who knows your Discord Tag or is in a mutual server with you can send you a friend request. This is handy if you don’t share servers with someone and you want to let them friend you with just your Discord Tag.
  • Friends of Friends - Selecting this means that for anyone to send you a friend request, they must have at least one mutual friend with you. You can view this in their user profile by clicking the Mutual Friends tab next to the Mutual Servers tab. 
  • Server Members - Selecting this means users who share a server with you can send you a friend request. Unselecting this means that you can only be added by someone with a mutual friend.

If you don’t want to be open to ANY requests, you can deselect all three options. However, you can still send out requests to other people.

You should only accept friend requests from users that you know and trust — if you aren’t sure, there’s no harm in rejecting the friend request. You can always add them later if it’s a mistake.

 3. Follow safe account practices

As with any online interaction, we recommend following some simple rules while you’re on Discord:

Be wary of suspicious links and files 
  • DON'T click on links that look suspicious or appear to have been shortened or altered. Discord will try and warn you about links that are questionable, but it’s no substitute for thinking before you click.
  • DON'T download files or applications from users you don't know or trust. Were you expecting a file from someone? If not, don’t click the file!
  • DON'T open a file that your browser or computer has flagged as potentially malicious without knowing it’s safe.
Never give away account information
  • DON'T give away your Discord account login or password information to anyone. We’ll never ask for your password. We also won’t ask for your token, and you should never give that to anyone.
  • DON'T give away account information for any account you own on any platform to other users on Discord. Malicious individuals might ask for this information and use it to take over your accounts.
  • DO report any accounts who claim to be Discord staff or who ask for account information to the Trust & Safety team.

Again, Discord will never ask you for your password either by email or by Discord direct message. If you believe your account has been compromised, please refer to this article.

4. Block other users when needed 

We understand that there are times when you might not want to interact with someone. We want everyone to have a positive experience on Discord and have you covered in this case.

How blocking works 
  • When you block someone on Discord, they will be removed from your friends list (if they were on it) and will no longer be able to send you DMs.
  • Any message history you have with the user will remain, but any new messages the user posts in a shared server will be hidden from you, though you can see them if you wish.
How to block a user 

mceclip3.png

On desktop:

  • Right-click the user's @Username to bring up a menu.
  • Select Block in the menu.

On mobile:

  • Tap the user's @Username to bring up the user's profile. 
  • Tap the three dots in the upper right corner to bring up a menu.
  • Select Block in the menu.

If you have blocked a user but they create a new account to try and contact you, please report the user to the Trust & Safety team. You can learn more about how to do this at this link.